German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

My family is considering getting a dog. I've wanted a GSD for over 10 years now. Problem is most people in my family work full time and I am a university student. We are totally committed to exercising the dog, obedience school and providing much attention before and after work/school and on weekends. My only concern is that the dog will get bored and start digging/barking if we leave him/her for just over 8 hours. I don't want to put a lovely dog through that. I was thinking about getting an older dog as a puppy would not cope very well with this arrangement. I do get 6 weeks off over winter though.

Does anyone here work full time like this and own a GSD? Love for some advice

·
Registered
938 Posts
I do and my older (4 yr) dog seems happy as a clam so far (fingers crossed.) I walk/train her 3x per day and make sure she is never alone for more than five hours. It can be done if you all have different schedules. I would look for an older rescue with a laid back temperament. ImageUploadedByPG Free1367288975.579212.jpg
Here is a picture of my dog, who is clearly becoming neurotic and destructive from me working all day. :D

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
369 Posts
We work full time and have a 2 year old. Full time is usually 8 hours a day and if you sleep 8 hours a day then you still have 8 hours. Plenty of time

·
Registered
308 Posts
I work 8-5 M-F, sometimes Saturday too, and I have a 5 month old pup. I walk her for an hour in the am and wear her out with fetch or the flirt pole, run home to feed her at lunch, and then at least an hour hike with fetch or flirt pole at night. I used an x-pen up till about 18 weeks, and now I have her gated in the kitchen with doggy door access to the secure back yard. We go to class on Sundays and on Wed night.