German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...1st off. I have to say that I was laid off 2 weeks ago and am actively looking for work. I am single and have a mtg payment. Anyhow, I can not go to Shutzhund training as aften as I would like (pay as you go). Aspen is 6 mo old and when we are out there we work on obedience. We are currently working on fuss (I am very new to this). However, when it comes time for other dogs to work on protection, Aspen tucks tail when he hears the training whip.

My trainer, suggested I walk around him and the other dog in training while he is using the whip. He has also had me wag his tail for him and pet him with the whip. Since I can not go on a regular basis, would it be OK/wise of me to get a whip and make the sound during training sessions here at home? I would really like for him to get past this fear. He did much better tis time then the 1st time. So, I know he is improving, I just dont want to lose what we have built while I am unemployed.

Ideas are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
19,451 Posts
I think many helpers use way too much whip. If it makes him scared, I would simply ask the helper not to use it. If the dog has the right nerve and drives for Schutzhund, eventually it will be a non-issue. If the whip is too confrontational for him right now he needs to be worked in ways that tap into his drive and build his confidence, not just to become desensitized to it.

·
Registered
5,373 Posts

He has also had me wag his tail for him and pet him with the whip. Since .

Ideas are greatly appreciated.
Are you saying your helper is telling you to play with him so his tail wags and then pet him with the whip?? Because if what you wrote is correct then you need to find another helper because you can wag your pup's tail for him all you want but if he is not doing it on his own it means nothing......I hope you just wrote this wrong....