German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was curious who works in the animal industry up here?
I will be opening a luxury pet boarding and training facility within the next 2 years,but right now I am not technically in the business of animals yet,unless you consider fostering dogs as a part of this:).

·
Premium Member
14,021 Posts
My plan is to open a doggie daycare/boarding facility eventually. I have to find the perfect spot...I know what I want, so now I just have to find it:)

·
Registered
702 Posts
I worked as a vet tech for 25 yrs..The veterinary/boarding kennel was huge having 4 drs on at all times, open for emerg. and sometimes boarding around 300 dogs and cats at one time. I was appointed kennel manager when needed and also did some grooming and filled in as surgery tech. I put in many hours at times working doubles without sitting..we weren't allowed. Tough job, pathetic pay, and wore me down physically. Bad back, hips, knees, shoulders.. lol .

·
Registered
4,782 Posts
I've been working in the animal industry for the last year and a half. I started out working at a kennel, then I got hired as a finished bather at a grooming shop. I got hired as a part time groomer at the same shop in march and I'll be a full time groomer sometime in the fall.

·
Registered
551 Posts
I work with wildlife, not domestic. Currently I'm trapping, radio collaring, tracking, and vaccinating skunks, gray foxes and big brown bats.

·
Registered
6,117 Posts
I started out as kennel help in 1990, then worked as a vet assistant and assistant groomer (bather/brusher). I also helped out with an Ostrich breeding facility, volunteered at the local shelter, and did veterinary housecalls with a mobile vet. Eventually started grooming full time in 1995. In 1997 I bought the grooming business, and haven't looked back!

·
Banned
8,988 Posts
I work in a doggy daycare.