German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Banned
8,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's so much fun to bike ride with Indra. So much energy, she's a puller.

Who else is bikeriding with their dog?

·
Banned
5,219 Posts
I have considered it but if Abby saw a squirrel ......

·
Registered
3,334 Posts
I started riding the bike with my dogs back in 2006. Believe it or not all 3 are pretty good together. Since the ticks are so bad, I have been staying out of the trails and walking the roads instead. As soon as we get a frost we'll be back on the trails with the bike, give my poor knee a break.

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
Sasha loves it when we go bike riding! It's the only time she gets to jog since her mamma can't jog or run. Now that it's finally getting cool I anticipate a daily bike ride will be happening.

PaddyD: You may be surprised. Sasha is always really interested in other critters when we walk, but so far (knock on wood) she doesn't seem phased by them when we're riding. I use a prong when we bike ride to give me a little bit better control of getting her attention if need be, but so far I've never had to. When we first started she did try to cut in front of the bike once or twice, but I now use a shorter leash and all is fine :)

·
Registered
1,245 Posts
I don't....but just mentioned to my husband I would love to. Our GSD is old and arthritic, so he much prefers to leisurely walk through the neighborhood. We have a 6 month (70lb) GSD/English Mastiff that we adopted through a rescue (huge foster failure :wub:) that I would love to train w/a bike. Any suggestions on how to start?

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
I don't....but just mentioned to my husband I would love to. Our GSD is old and arthritic, so he much prefers to leisurely walk through the neighborhood. We have a 6 month (70lb) GSD/English Mastiff that we adopted through a rescue (huge foster failure :wub:) that I would love to train w/a bike. Any suggestions on how to start?