German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I’m new to the forum. I did a search on this topic but nothing came up. I have a 21 mth old male intact white shepherd. I noticed a couple months ago that there’s a spot developed on his right shoulder where the hair is turning black. The area is about the size of my hand splayed out. The skin is pink underneath but the hair shafts are black. He’s been bathed twice thinking it was dirt but it won’t come out. This dog DOES suffer from dietary and environmental allergies so I’m not sure if this is related somehow. The skin looks healthy underneath and doesn’t seem to affect him otherwise. It’s the weirdest thing. Has anyone ever heard of this happening.. is it a common issue with white shepherds? This is my fist shepherd (yep I’m hooked on the breed now lol)

·
Registered
1,762 Posts
Pictures?

·
Registered
856 Posts
I'm not an expert, so I'm just taking a stab at this and guessing. If this were my dog, I would be taking it in to a vet and have a biopsy done of that particular location. It sounds suspicious and would have me concerned about potential squamous cell carcinoma.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm not an expert, so I'm just taking a stab at this and guessing. If this were my dog, I would be taking it in to a vet and have a biopsy done of that particular location. It sounds suspicious and would have me concerned about potential squamous cell carcinoma.
Hi. I am a vet tech and have seen squamous cell carcinoma many times. This defly isn’t it. The skin under his fur is 100% perfect.. no discolouration, nothing at all.
Tryin to navigate my way around this site and will try to upload a picture...

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
7,901 Posts
I doubt it’ll turn black. Since White is a masking gene, could be a bit of bleed thru. Or just a very very very washed out dog appearing white. What color were the parents and siblings?

·
Registered