German Shepherds Forum banner

Whine Whine Whine!

91K views 22 replies 19 participants last post by  banzai555 
#1 ·
My girl is turning 5 months old this week and I am learning so much about her, but this still baffles me. She whines when her sister is outside being walked. She whines when her and her sister are in the car together. She whines when she wants to go out. But most of the time she whines and I can't figure out why. Is this normal? Sometimes she cries or whines so badly it sounds like she is being tortured.

Thanks for your help.

#19 ·
Clicker training to be quiet

OMG I can't tell you how glad I am that I found this page! Una whines incessantly and with five small kids in the house, it's all I can do to not get frustrated with it.

I've never done any clicker training before. Is there a primer I can get on this? I don't have a lot of spare time but I definitely want to work on this with her. Una is just about to turn two. I hope it's not too late! :help:

#5 ·
HAHA got to love the GSD for this. Nitro is not so bad, but he has got worse since we got his "sister" 3 yrs ago. She has BAD separation anxiety, but it's only when Nitro isn't around, she's so bonded to him, she can go out without him but if he is out she Screams!! forget whining, that would be bliss!

Definitely teach the quiet, it's the best thing they can learn in my opinion. Even if we do love them "talking" to us on most occassions

#6 ·
Hahaha.. Yup, Stark is a whinner too..

Whine for attention, whine for food, whine while chewing his bone, whine while he is falling alseep, whine when we are petting him... whine, whine, whine.. haha..

Definitely a GSD thing.. hahaha..

#7 ·
Thanks Everyone!

I'm glad to hear this is a GSD thing and not something I'm doing wrong. I'm constantly trying to figure out what she needs or wants. We've already taken her out for a potty break 3 times in the last hour. lol