German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the time has finally come and I'll be getting a new puppy in approximately 2 weeks. The litter is just over 6 weeks old and I have visited a number of times. I'm soooo excited! However!! I basically have the choice out of 2 puppies that fit my criteria, both males, and I'm having a hard time deciding what I truly might want!

I know there is only so much you can tell from a puppy, but one is described as lower energy and more laid back, the biggest in the litter and sleeps a lot compared to litter mates. He will run up with his litter mates to the front of the pen, seems healthy and happy, but when I put my hand out he doesn't seem interested and will usually go lay back down!! I don't want to be overly harsh judging him just because he doesn't instantly "like" me, do you think this would probably grow with time? I am not an expert on puppy behavior. My girl is full of life, and is totally overjoyed every time I get back from being gone for even 2 minutes, but honestly, she's a bit too hyper (I wanted a calmer second dog, but not a disinterested dog!).

The other puppy will jump up and paw at the cage, and will bite at my hand a lot! He is described as being playful, but not overly needy for attention. He's the smallest, but seems very happy and healthy. What am I to think? Is this behavior really that telling right now, or does it potentially not mean very much?

Also, I had a question on coat color, both parents are Black & Red, but the first puppy seems to be the only one in the litter that is Black & Cream almost? So much lighter! Is there a chance the cream would darken or turn back to red, or is this out of the question? Thanks so much!!

·
Registered
3,922 Posts