She is 7 months now.

When does it start?
How long does it last?
And when will the next sessions start?

I'm new to having a bitch all my dogs have been male

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
Typically it's close to a year but they can come in earlier...Gilda's first heat was at 9 months. They are normally 3 weeks but can go longer, they are normally every 6 months but some dogs go every 4 months. They can have a split heat, that will typically be 2 months afte the initial one and ususally it's the 2nd in a split heat that they can get pg. They can also have a silent heat in which you will not see the typical signs (discharge).

You will need to keep her away from all males during her cycle.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! Do they discharge allot?

She is very rarely near any male dogs and I don't want her having puppies for about a year or two yet.

·
Registered
512 Posts
You'd have to ask the breeder what to expect as to when.
Different lines mature at different ages. Some bitches come into heat at 6 months. Some at 18.

She'll come into heat 6-8 months after the previous heat.

Bitches are in heat for about three weeks. If you're being watchful, you'll notice a swollen vulva first.

I would recommend having her spayed after her first heat.

·
Registered
4,828 Posts
Thanks! Do they discharge allot?

She is very rarely near any male dogs and I don't want her having puppies for about a year or two yet.
Some bitches bleed like a stuck pig and others are very clean. It totally depends on the dog.

Are you planning on training, competing, and titling your dog?

·
Registered
123 Posts
Thanks so much for this post! Ziva is coming up on 6 months and although we'd like to breeder her later, the fearful black lab next door isn't our pick. *L* She needs a real man! Now I know what to look for in her.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Stella has just completed her first heat, she was seven months on May 21st.