German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been expecting Bianca to start "blowing coat" for the last two months or so, but so far I haven't seen any 'seasonal' shedding-- don't GSDs exhibit that? I thought they did but I haven't seen anything from Bianca. I'm wondering when others dogs start the seasonal shedding period? IIRC my Golden usually started in May or June depending on how hot it was and how much time we spent outside, and then shed again in the fall...

·
Registered
31,591 Posts
GSD shedding is seasonal? Could someone pleasssseeee tell Jax that!!!!

·
Registered
451 Posts
Originally Posted By: Jax08GSD shedding is seasonal? Could someone pleasssseeee tell Jax that!!!!
Hehehe! Well as far as I know they do shed right through the year but then twice a year they fully blow coat. So Jax08 I'm afraid what you've experienced aint nothing yet! LOL!

·
Registered
3,143 Posts
Bella sheds year round but right now she is shedding more, extra clumps but I brush her everyday so maybe I don't really notice the seasonal one. I think it depends on her age and coat too.

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah that's what I meant by "seasonal" shedding Heidi-- I was expecting an increase in shedding (possibly in clumps) for a period of time in the spring.
Bianca sheds all the time but it is a pretty light shedding, if I brush her I get maybe a brush full of fur but that's it. My Golden Retriever was the same way most of the year (except she didn't have a heavy undercoat so most of the year I didn't even get a full brush of shed fur) and then twice a year she would shed heavily for a few weeks.
I thought GSDs did that too?

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
I think it depends some on the dog and where you live.

·
Registered
579 Posts
Yeah GSDs shedding is 100% seasonal.

The season is 365 days long however...

·
Registered
31,591 Posts