German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to be in Akron tomorrow to show Rushie in obedience. This is my first try at it.

The dog has been absolutely miserable for the past six weeks. He decided to go through a stupid-phase NOW!

He is a Rally dog. He used to be solid on down-stays, sit stays, come fronts, Stand, and healing on lead.

This past week we have been working off lead a lot. Progress has been made. However, the following issues have cropped up:

I have never tried to call him front with my hands at my sides. So I started that this week. Now he comes to me, sometime via the whippy dip place, he sits crooked in front of me. If he sits straight, it is for a micro-second and then he jumps up on me.

Sometimes he finishes fine, sometimes he wonders in an exaggerated radius to find the spot next to my leg.

I stand him and get ready for the stand, finally tell him to stay, and walk away. Sometimes he follows me. Sometimes he stays, but when I return, I get all the way to the shoulder and then he breaks.

Down-stays, he is breaking.

Sit stays, he is breaking.

Oh and we never used people posts for the figure eight, just little orange cones, or building posts. Worst yet, the boy has started frisking people for treats -- perfect strangers!!! I get the general idea that if someone offers him a milkbone he will follow them home!

Is there anything else I might screw up tomorrow AND Sunday???

Is there a "Perfect" drug I can slip him tonight in his kibble that will give me 24 hours of Super-Doggie???

I am desperate!

·
Registered
4,742 Posts
I don't know of super drugs for dogs, but if it were me, I would drink a can of beer before trialing to try to relax.

If he doesn't know something today, he wont tomorrow (even when good luck happens as much as bad) so focus in what he does right and... Have a great moment!

Best wishes for both of you!

·
Registered
137 Posts