German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I feel I'm way behind in the training of my GSP... I have been working with him since he was two months.
He's potty trained, does basic commands (sit, down, stay, leave it/release -however he will test me, recall not good at all, jumping trouble area, he walks well on a leash but off leash to him it free time follow by catch me if you can... in which I can't, hunt his poop even though i repeatly tells him no). When he gets in the play zone which is 95% it's hard to get him to focus. He's mouthing and at times it looks like he's trying to asert himself (maybe I'm reading more into his behavior). Sometimes I visit youtube and I see dogs so well behaved, very focus and etc.
We walk, play with flirtpole, train but I can't seem to get him to focus... he just wants to play...

·
Registered
9,602 Posts
I would take him to a class, start NILF, clicker training worked well with mine. By now he should have good manners and a fairly reliable recall. The play and mouthing are normal for his age, he just needs to work

·
Registered
3,894 Posts
Sometimes I visit youtube and I see dogs so well behaved, very focus and etc.
We walk, play with flirtpole, train but I can't seem to get him to focus... he just wants to play...
He's a puppy!
Break your actual training sessions into short spurts 10-15 minutes tops. Throw in lots of fun play during the session so he looks forward to it.

There are exercises you can do to gain better focus but after your dog has learned the basics like sit, down, stay, you can praise and sometimes treat for these behaviors as they happen sporatically through the day. So if he walks up to you out of the blue and sits, praise and treat, that kind of thing.
Training doesn't always have to happen during a set time, it's something you do by just reinforcing and acknowledging a dogs good behavior .