German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! This is my new baby, Tugger. He is a sable German Shepherd. What color sable do you think he will be when he’s full grown? Will he turn to a black n tan color? Or stay sable? I’m just curious if he will stay this color or look black n tan. I’ve never er had a sable before. He looks kinda on the lighter side, he has a lot of gray in him!!

·
Super Moderator
7,048 Posts
Once a sable always a sable.
He’ll change a lot during the first year but will most likely resemble his sable parent.

·
Registered
31,387 Posts
Typical sable. I don't see anything that would indicate a patterned sable. I assume that's what you were asking?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Typical sable. I don't see anything that would indicate a patterned sable. I assume that's what you were asking?
Yes! Thank you. Sorry I am not good with the bunch of different coat names lol. But I’ve seen some very light “sables” end up being mistaken for black n tan once they’re adult. So I was just curious if he looks like he will have that. And I don’t care at all by the way, I love him he’s the best puppy. I just like to think about what he may look like especially cuz I’ve never had a sable before!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Yes! Thank you. Sorry I am not good with the bunch of different coat names lol. But I’ve seen some very light “sables” end up being mistaken for black n tan once they’re adult. So I was just curious if he looks like he will have that. And I don’t care at all by the way, I love him he’s the best puppy. I just like to think about what he may look like especially cuz I’ve never had a sable before!
Thank you for understanding my stupidity 🤣

·
Registered
31,387 Posts