German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When placing a puppy with a specific type of person, what can you really tell about the puppy, and at what age? (6, 7, 8wks?)

I sometimes see breeders advertising "show prospects" and working prospects, etc. What actual characteristics or physical traits make a puppy a prospect vs. a "pet"? I am familiar with some of the tests, is that all some breeders are basing these statements on?

·
Registered
1,878 Posts
im no pro, but i'd have to say they "advertise" show or working prospects based on the titles held by the parents. If both parents are titled in Schultzhund for example, then the puppy would make a good prospect.

·
Registered
14,509 Posts
Ailyn,
Many litters will have a range of pups so even if both parents are titled then there may be pups in the litter that aren't quite cut out to be on the field.

Personally I have no idea how they do it
that's why I trust the breeder to know!!

·
Registered
15,138 Posts
When I was a whelp helper for Weims, I got to see the pups as they developed. One of the males that I said would be great with kids because he was a little more laid back is that way as a young dog. So breeders who spend time with the pups (not big commercial breeders) should be able to tell drives and which pup is physically better. The physical can change a lot, what many a breeder thought was the best pup at maturity wasn't always the best in that litter.

·
Registered
5,483 Posts