German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really am trying to be a good owner and get my dogs out for plenty of walks. However, I haven't so much been walking Kaiser as acting as an anchor of Kaiser to drag. I'm 220lbs so he gets a good work out and I'm able to control him but it's not exactly the relaxing walk I desire.

We've made contact with who I think will be our primary trainer going forward and she mentioned that I'm using the wrong harness. Yeah, I have a pinch collar, a choke chain and your generic flat collar but I don't use those for walking. Everything I'm studying and the method I want to use discourage them. Instead I've been using a harness. One of those harnesses suspiciously like the harnesses they use for sled dogs. :rolleyes:

So I did a search on this forum and found two alternatives: a gentle leader and SENSE-ation No-Pull Dog Harness. I had Amazon overnight the no-pull harness. My reasoning is: how would you like somebody to grab you by the nose and lead you around?

The harness arrived about 30 minutes ago, I got it on Kaiser and have it adjusted to pretty close to where it should be. We took a quick walk around the block and what a difference. The leash stay lose the whole time.

Either he is still figuring it out, in which case tomorrow I'll get taken for a nice drag or it works. I'm thinking it works, but we'll see Kaiser is a crafty puppy.

Next trick for me: bitter apple to see if we can put an end to the leash biting. He's not damaging the leash, but we need to redirect that energy somewhere else so he doesn't eventually figure out that he can bite straight though his leash.

·
Registered
123 Posts