German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just got my 4month old GS some hip xrays just to see the status of them while she is young. The doctor noticed some sensitivity on her right hip as he rotated it , she would whine alittle. When he rotated the left one she wouldn't mind. As you can see in the xray, her right hip is a tad bit more out then her left one. He said the hips looks overall in good shape but he has concerns for the right hip and should get more xrays in 6 months. I personally think she will grow out of it but do you guys think this should be any type of concern at this point ?

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
6,359 Posts
I'm no medical expert but Gsds aren't done growing and changing until 18months - 2years.Unless she's having problems I would just wait until she's mature.

·
Registered
69 Posts
I'm not intending on having my puppy's hips/elbows checked till she is 2 years old. Not going to risk something or someone hurting her still growing bones.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Too early for X-rays they are still growing. Best to do is prelim X-rays at a year final at 2. That is what I’ve always done.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well I went in as a precautionary measure because I know alot can be done in the early stages of hip dysplasia and I noticed some bunny hopping when she gets excited. There was not a specific reason of why he recommended xrays but once he saw the sensitivity in the right hip he said xrays is the only way to get a for sure answer if weather anything has to be done now

·
Registered
13,884 Posts
don't touch those hips !!

growth plates are not closed yet

bunny hopping ? how does a dog move? there is more than one gait .

send that digital x ray to the breeder --- they will have a good idea

want a professional comment send the plate to ofa .

there is wise caution in breeding , feeding and management - but some of this
worry about hips borders on hysteria.