German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I live in NYC and this will be my first german shepherd. I am going to pick up a puppy this weekend and I have been searching for a vet in NYC that can validate my puppy is healthy and well ( I have no experience evaluating their gaits to identify if the puppy will develop issued in the future.) . At the end my search landed on google and yelp. Do anyone here know of a vet that he/she will recommend?

The parents are 4-6 years old and they do not have any hip or elbow test. The breeder is a male in his 55 that treats them like house pets. Apparently, it is a litter of 15.

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
So many things. I would absolutely pass on this litter. A vet cannot look at the gait of a puppy and tell you that he/she won’t develop issues down the line. If the parents don’t have any tests, you have no idea that the dogs are healthy. A lot of dogs with dysplasia display no symptoms.

A litter of 15? That’s crazy. I’d be extremely worried about the pups not getting the appropriate attention and care needed with that many of them. This guy sounds irresponsible, and you want to stack the deck in your favor for a healthy, well-rounded pup. You will not be doing that with this litter. If you choose to go ahead anyway, I highly suggest you get health insurance.

·
Registered
4,428 Posts
I have to agree with Pytheis here. First GSD ever, from a breeder who does no health testing or training? Good luck!

Secondly, don't live in your area or have a vet to recommend, but just an FYI, I've never seen a breed specific vet anywhere. Some are better than others when it comes to working with GSDs, but you're unlikely to find one that specializes on a single breed.

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
You can find the vet who treats your local K9s. They may see a lot of German Shepherds, but they will be adult dogs, not puppies. Are you positive this is the dog you want?

·
Registered
2 Posts