German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
So I am going to be starting Samson on RAW diet very soon. I even found a local yahoo group that orders in bulk for better prices. They have some orders now for Red Rock Raw patties(I think) and then normal chicken(all cuts) and beef and pork (most cuts I think). So I thought starting Samson on chicken would be a good start. What do you think are the best cuts just to start out with? He is 8 weeks. I know it is 2-3% of ideal body weight, which should be 90 lbs. I have read and decided to to 50%RBM 45%MM and 5% OM(but no OM on first week). I am open to suggestions as I am very new to this and just learning. What will his little teeth do the best with? Thanks and any help will be greatly appreciated.:help:

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Chicken necks for bone. Hand feed it, because you don't want him to wolf it down. Fiona eats all cuts of the chicken. He is too little for wings now. I would pull the meat off the bones for him. Not sure he can handle the big drumstick bone or thigh bone yet. If you have a meat grinder, you can grind the bone into the meat. Otherwise, grind (food processer) egg shells for calcium. Fiona eats pork, but add it in last, because it might be too rich for him.
Fiona has gotten finicky and I have to now cook her chicken and pull the meat off the bone. Never ever give a cooked bone.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
ask the source, they probably know best. My girl came weaned on raw and since then its mostly drums or 1/4s organs mixed in on occasion.Some taco meat unseasoned, and I cheat the raw diet by using pumpkin, yogurt, egg, and a flaxseed based supplement package which is the same as the last 20 ingredients as most 5 star dog foods. Also whole ground baby cow but that may have made her sick last time so I cant reccomend it until a couple more feedings.

·
Super Moderator
18,687 Posts