German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am looking for a breeder or importer that could provide me with a world record sized, purebred (show, working, or hybrid quality) perfectly colored (zero white) black/tan or black/red GSD with all close to excellent X-Rays and in perfect health with at least a five year health guarantee in the contract. The meaner looking he is, the better. I have had a GSD in the past so I am very experienced but unfortunately he's no longer with us. My first mistake was purchasing him from a backyard breeder. The first year and a half of his life was spent at the vet racking up over 3 thousand large. Even after many arguments with the breeder on his so called "satisfaction guarantee" nothing was done. I am looking to avoid this at all cost. The pain of loosing him has been unbearable. This GSD would be trained extensively to become my service dog as I am a military veteran who suffers from PTSD. I would like everyone's opinion on who the best of the best of the best is for my specific needs. thank you all so much.

·
Registered
6,117 Posts
Since the GSD standard calls for a middle-sized dog (up to about 90 lb for males), you're unlikely to find a reputable breeder who breeds "world record sized" dogs. You will find lots of "oversized" breeders but I don't know of any who can provide OFA excellent xrays and a five year health guarantee. Are you looking for a personal protection dog, or just a dog that *looks* mean, as a deterrent? What specific tasks would you need your service dog to perform?

Generally speaking, extra-large sized dogs do not live as long as their middle-sized brethren. Seeing as you just experienced a terrible heartbreak in losing your last dog, I expect you would want your future dog to be around as long as possible. I'm very sorry for your loss, I just lost my GSD as well so I can empathize. :(

·
Registered
6,662 Posts