Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

We are in the beginning stages of looking for a GSD for our family. We currently have two older dogs (both 12, 1 lab mix , 1 shepherd mix) who we are enjoying and we will not get a puppy until they have both moved on. I do want a puppy quickly after they are gone though and want to be prepared. We are a family of 5, with three young boys (6, 2.5, and 5 months). We live in the Mtns of Nor Cal (Burney) on several acres that back up to 10's of thousands of acres of forest. My wife is a stay-at-home mom (who does some work from home during the evenings) and I am a school teacher.

We are looking for a family companion first, but I am very active outdoors as I am sure my boys will be. I hike a lot, backpack, hunt, and Mt. Bike. I am also interested in obedience training (CGC), tracking, and possibly SAR. Our new pup will be inside with us most of the time and will have an inside/outside kennel off our detached garage.

I want a dog similar but better trained (my fault) and less skittish/shy than my last GSD/mix, Kaya. Kaya passed away 2 years ago after a year long battle with cancer. I got her from an animal shelter when she was 8 weeks and she was 11 when she passed. Kaya went everywhere with me, especially in the woods.

I want a dog that can keep up with me, but at the same time be a fine family pet. I do not want a super high drive dog that will go nuts if it misses a daily hike or is unable to come with us on a trip. A dog with a medium drive that has an off switch would do great.

With that long book off my chest, I have been looking at different breeders. I really enjoy the looks of the dark sable dogs and have decided that I will look for a dog that fits my drive/temperament needs that will have a sable coat.