German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
938 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a very nice talk with a trainer today about treat-free training using praise as a reinforcer instead. I have never tried this approach before and wonder what you think of it? There is contradictory information online. The other trainer I am considering is positive-only and would likely go with completely opposed methods. I'm not sold on the +R only approach.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
19,157 Posts
Use treats to train the initial command and then phase out the treats. You use BOTH treats AND praise while training.

"Sit" = treat + praise
Dog masters sit with treats and praise - treats slowly start to become random occurances but praise is always = party thrown when dog obeys "sit"

Dog associates praise (usually a key word such as yes) with reward. Try not to use a command that you use often in every day occurances such as "okay". Example of bad usage would be using okay as a release command from a sit stay/down stay. You say okay and the dog is released. Well since we use okay in regular every day (most people do) putting your dog in a stay and they hear okay, they don't associate it with those you're speaking too instead. Instead of okay we use free. Yes becomes our keyword for a command done well.

Make sense? Even positive only trainers use some kind of negative reinforcement. Example would be the dog knows the command but doesn't perform. You turn away from the dog for 10 seconds, go back and try again. By turning away from the dog, you are telling him he messed up. Since 90% of dogs want to be with us and please us, turning away from them is a negative for them so they quickly learn "I didn't do as I was told even though I know the command 100%, mom/dad turned away from me. Must fix this"

Got it? Simple easy peasy.

·
Registered
938 Posts
Discussion Starter #3