German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
((Not sure if this should go in the Training forum or the Feeding forum.))

The breeder I'm getting my pup from feeds Raw. I've never done this before, but I'm open to learning.

I've been watching a lot of Dave Kroyer videos and really appreciate his approach to using the dog's regular meals as an integral part of his training routines. He uses Bil-Jac, which seems simple enough....but how does that brand of food compare to a genuinely raw diet?

If you stick with raw....how do you incorporate the meals into your training routine? Seems awfully messy.

Is Bil-Jac a healthy option?

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
Freeze dried liver works great for your "high prize" reward..I wouldn't feed too much of it though, otherwise will cause runs. You can also get freeze dried raw food in kibble form. I think Instinct makes some? Not sure the brand name off the top of my head. Just make sure you figure treats into daily intake amounts.

You can also ask the breeder if their pups tend to have food drive or toy/tug/ball drive. Maybe it wont be all food reward all the time :)

I used raw to teach tracking..his regular food. It was messy, yes. Had a kit....defrosted grind in a baggie, a spoon, hand wipes/alcohol based sanitizer, and another ziplock to put the dirty spoon and wipes in when we were done.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
I don't do raw treats but I feed raw and try to balance out the amount of treats given in a day to the portion of meals if I've used a lot of treats. But the portion of treats aren't that much.

I do make my own, basically just partial boiled beef, heart, and boiledmeatballs but recently I found that if I scramble a few eggs with a decent amount of parm or Romano cheese then skillet cook it as an omelette, when cooled, the omelette will cut up in pretty small cubes without crumbling.