German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
/trainer fail. So ive been bringing my girl to a local gsd club since 11 weeks, she just turned 6 months. The puppy training has been a ring of dog/handlers and the trainer calling out sit, heel,down etc, not much if any instruction on how to do each move, no marking good or bad behavior. Today I graduated to the novice class.
Ive seen the trainer from today at the club and a few weeks ago he told me ecollars arent allowed in the door, he relayed a story of a dog in an agility tunnel who got shocked and wouldnt go back in. Early on today Apache was not doing well, once in the ring she was finding crumbs from the previous class and not heeling well. The trainer told me "you have no focus from your dog" Which is the opposite of normal but I can agree at that point. Then he told me to get a prong collar, and im not against it but I was iffy because this is the guy who told me no ecollar. - his own dogs look completely shut down to me or else they are elderly. They just sit there and do nothing, look asleep with eyes open, and when I brought my puppy to class months ago his dogs would eat my puppy if I let her get near.
I think its time to stop going there even if its cheap.

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
my trainer will not use prong collars or collars. It is also treat free training. She does demonstrate how to get the dog to do the command though and will come help if anyone is having problems with getting their dog to comply.

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
Discussion Starter #4