German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I haven't got my puppy yet, but i am thinking to get him trained for Schutzhund sports and join a local Schutzhund club. As i am a rookie in this field i am just trying to estimate the costing behind getting him trained for Schutzhund or getting him Titled.

Any advice will be appereciated.

Thank you.

Achuyut.

·
Registered
4,687 Posts
I pay $400 a year in dues to the club. This does not include trial entry fees ($40-$60) or costs of seminars, travel, etc. I have easily spent a few hundred, if not a thousand dollars on training supplies (tugs, balls, treats, dumbbells, etc).

Dues vary by club and location though, so this is just an idea of what I spend yearly.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
19,451 Posts
I think I pay $100 for annual dues and then $20/mo March-Dec. Gas is actually my biggest expense since I drive over 2.5 hours each way. USCA membership is $100/yr. Supplied were an initial expense but in the past year or so all I've had to get was a new prong collar ($35) and a few new balls ($13/each). Our club has two trials a year and I donate something to the raffle (toys, treats, leashes, last time I donated a photography session) and contribute to the buffet lunches we sell.

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
I spend roughly $1700 a year on training.... just training.

I've spent around $1100 on equipment/random gear, and replacing things as they've worn down. (most was start up costs) This is not even done though, I'm always needing more things.

Because I work my dogs, I also have them on really good food and supplements to fuel them through expelling a lot of energy and stressing their body. That's an extra (approx) $20 per dog per month.

Luckily I'm really close to training, so travel costs are not much. Maybe $10 per day or so.

I'm not part of a club, so I don't have any extra fees... just pay as we go.