German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Grooming ? I was told that by shaving Nadia's fur that it would help her keep cool during the summer and decrease shedding. I'm no expert but it sounds too good to be true. Nadia is not a LH as you can see and she currently eats Canidae all life stages mixed with Longevity. I have a german shedder here as well. I was reading other threads and not sure what "blowing coat" means. One thread mentioned "sheps" shed in the spring and fall, someone better tell Nadia that cuz she didn't get the message for that one.
It sure does get hot here in the central valley so I'd appreciate any advice.

·
Registered
218 Posts
I would NOT shave her!. First, shaving a dog like this can cause the dog to get sunburn because they do not have the proper protection. It is also possible that the hair will not grow back properly. The coat of the dog acts as an insulator and helps to keep them cool in the summer and warm in the winter. A good grooming or brushing at home should help to get rid of the undercoat and loose hairs. I brush my dogs on a fairly regular basis- maybe once a week with an undercoat rake and a shedding tool. Bathe as needed- mine get it a few times a year. Please DO NOT SHAVE HER!

·
Registered
12,829 Posts
Lovely girl!

Don't shave her, the undercoat insulates against heat as well as cold. If she seems hot, get her a kiddie pool so she can hop in when it's hot.

Blowing coat is when it starts coming out in clumps, usually on your best rug. If it doesn't get below freezing in the winter and she doesn't spend a lot of time outside when it's cooler, she probably doesn't get much undercoat. Lol, you may be one of the lucky ones who doesn't experience full blown german shedding.

·
Registered
943 Posts
DONT SHAVE HER!!

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Whoever told you that does not know dogs. They have the coats they do for a reason. Comb out the shed but leave the rest alone.

·