German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We'll be picking up our new GSD pup in late June and I've started looking for trainers in my area. I emailed the company at www.TrainedFamilyDog.com and asked her training philosophy. Your opinions, please.

My philosophy... I am a praise-correction trainer. That means I use a simple physical touch as a correction to redirect the attention of a dog and then I use praise when the dog does what I want him to do. My motto is do no harm. I would never do anything to a dog that I wouldn't do to me first. Use of treats is encouraged, although not for everything. I have seen that create a food aggression in some dogs. I am a big believer in the pack mentality, as well. Check out my wesbite (URL below) - there's more info there, too.

·
Registered
27,251 Posts
Looking at the site, I think she channels Cesar a bit much. The 'pack mentality' buzzword is so overused!

Go and see if you can sit in on a few of her classes(beginner and advanced).

Food rewards during training seldom if ever creates food aggression.

What plans do you have for your puppy? If you are going into some type of sport, I'd get with that group now and you'd be getting a headstart thru their recommmendations.

·
Registered
482 Posts