German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so lately I've been concerned that my dog might not like me very much. As a puppy he was pretty aloof; never cuddly really but he did love attention and playing. He has always wanted to sleep on the floor (he's a longhair, too) and does follow me most of the time when I walk in to another room.

But I bring him everywhere with me, from the mall to the liquor store, camping, if I spend the night at anyone's house or apartment. We go kayaking, dog park, hiking in the woods and go on walks all the time. I'm a college student and currently live alone but the first 3 months I had him (He is now 6 months) I did have two roommates. We all liked him and he liked everyone.

But in the last few weeks I notice he goes up to my friends (that he knows) and is WAY happy to see them. Just a few days ago I was camping with 6 other people and him. So we were in the middle of a clearing and sleeping around the fire on tarps and in sleeping bags. He was off leash but he always sticks close. He would go up to my friends and lay with them and ask them for attention and lick their faces and stuff like that.
And then when I called him, he would go to someone like 5 feet away and ask them for affection!!! It was not my "command" call but more like my "come here little baby boy" sweet call.

But if it's just me and him he wants to be nearby but never asks for affection (which I don't encourage anyway). Like if I'm outside reading under a tree and I give him a bone, he could go anywhere, but he always lays down within 5 feet of me, USUALLY right against me, while he chews his bone.

I'm just confused by his behavior.

Oh btw over the last few months he usually stays with a friend 1 day a week while I had a clinical or a 12 hour work shift. I would always drop him off then pick him up after. Idk if that matters, he always liked the person and all my friends love him.