German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! We are moving into an apartment soon with a nice grassy field right outside our door. I've been thinking about it for a while and really want to get Zeb into agility. He loves showing off and I think that he would do well in it.

My only problem is that I've never done anything like it before and wanted to sign up for a local agility class. The only thing is he is reactive to certain dogs and I am afraid that he will act out in class and it will cause more harm than good.

I was hoping to get some opinions on the matter. I've been working with him on his problem and he's gotten really good with me about his reactions to other dogs when one on one. I just don't want to overwhelm him.

Would it be better to get a DVD and try from that? I was hoping to get feedback from a trainer but can't afford private classes, why I was thinking about the group.

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts
I would absolutely start contacting clubs/classes in the area, meet with the instructors, and get their recommendations. Different classes are set up in different ways, so some would be ideal for you and your dog, and some instructors are better able to deal with dogs like yours.

Since some of the equipment is huge (aframe? dogwalk?) and expensive, it makes alot more sense to use the ones at class and invest in the cheaper stuff like the jumps, a tunnel, and I would absolutely get a set of weaves.

There are different 'flavors' of instruction too. So when you do find a good club/classes then the instructor can point you in the right direction for DVD's that will go along with their program so you and your dog won't end up all confused!

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #3