German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there any truth when people say that long haired shepherds have better temperaments than short haired shepherds, training aside?

·
Registered
3,544 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I don't think that is a fact lol. My first was longhaired, and he had to be taken out of police training because he did not want to release on command. My second and the one I have now both had/have short/plush coats. And about the same temperament (just less drive).

·
Registered
9,602 Posts
Out of 3 gsds I've owned, my long coated I have now has the best temperament, so in my experience, yes. But I've never heard that before so I'm thinking it's just the dog

·
Registered
1,441 Posts
I've only had a GSD/Husky mix and a PB long coat GSD. I don't know for sure if there is a difference, but Scarlett is a much cuddlier, snugglier, attached to her peeps dog than our previous dog. Can't say if it's the coat length or not...I suspect not. She's just a different dog.

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
Depends on what you are looking for and consider good temperament. I have had only one long coated GSD. She was beautiful, large, and heavy boned but way too mild and low energy for me. I would be hesitant to own another. Rumor has it she is typical of long coats. I don't know.

·
Registered
2,944 Posts