German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I've settled on a breeder that was recommended by an experienced member of, GS.com. I mention this because the breeder is an excellent trainer and comes highly recommended.

With that said, I have the option of picking my pup up at 8 weeks or leaving with the breeder until 12 weeks of age. I originally thought it was an easy decision to have her keep the pup to give me the best possible foundation to work from as I'm new to the, GS breed. I admit that I want to bypass some of the puppy stage but not more than 1 month (month 3).

She goes above and beyond what I've read here and elsewhere when it comes to establishing a solid foundation. She will then come to my home to help with the transition.

Questions:
1) Is it a good idea for one to leave a pup to work with the breeder during month 3?
2) Will I be missing out on critical bonding stages in month 3?
3) Not sure what else to ask so, any other thoughts you can share?

Thanks,
Dave

·
Registered
32,416 Posts
Your puppy will bond with you just fine. She will make the transition from Jen to you without any problem.

·
Registered
102 Posts
I second that, your puppy will bond fine. About the only thing I would be concerned with is the puppy's exposure to other people and dogs. You have a critical time period up to about 18 weeks that you need to expose the pup to other people and dogs/animals. My general rule is 15 people a day. You still have 4-6 weeks to accomplish this and hopefully the breeder is able to do some of this as well. But that's about all I would be concerned with.