German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a veterinarian for 42 years and have had many dogs during and before becoming a vet. My previous two, Dagny and Eva, sisters from the same litter, were the most rewarding companions to date, and we took them through Beginner Obedience I and II, and graduated with Canine Good Citizen titles (CGC). Our favorite times were walking off leash on the trail in Mill Creek Park behind our home.
We got Dagny and Eva from my brother-in-law, who took no care in selective breeding. At one year old, Dagny began limping in her right front leg. She had a ununited anconeal process, and surgery by a board certified surgeon didn't help. She would always limp. I X-rayed Eva and found her left front leg had the same problem, and surgery didn't help her either. Many enjoyable years passed, I kept them lean at 80-85 pounds, and then I noticed Dagny was starting to drag her back toe nails, softly scraping along. Did a blood check for degenerative myelopathy (DM) and both dogs came back double recessive positive for Lou Gehrig's disease. It progressed slowly, with me getting boots and socks for her, wrapping her lower legs, and eventually helping her with a sling.
I put Dagny down at 8 years old last year, and Eva at 9 this year. Heartbreaking. I never want to go through that agony again. I didn't know it (no symptoms), but when I put Dagny down I had 54 hours of atrial fibrillation. Yes, you can die from a broken heart.