German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What suggestions do you have for bringing a baby home from the hospital where a GSD lives? I am new at this and am looking for ideas so I can figure out what might work best for Panzer

He will be 4 years old when baby comes home!

·
Registered
945 Posts
Well I am she that Panzer already can sense that something is going on. When I had my son last year, it was a simple, for me. I held the baby and let my gsd sniff and be a little nosy. And he was fine with it. I was careful where I put the baby and when I went to do anything at all,from making a bottle to changing its diaper, my gsd was right next to me. PM me if you have any specific questions.

·
Registered
12,829 Posts
Re: Suggestions for bringing baby home from hospit

We didn't do the doll thing or the poopy diaper routine.

The baby's room was setup in advance, they were able to go in and explore all the new things.

We also setup the stroller and infant carrier in the house about a month before my oldest son came home. I'd walk the dogs around in the house a bit with it so they learned how. When the baby came home, I used to stroll him to dinner in it. It worked out nice to have the baby safe and secure in his carrier while I worked with the dogs on how to behave. Having 2 at the time, I needed a hand for each one, lol.

·
Registered
1,815 Posts

I did have my husband bring home a blanket that the baby had used the first night....so that the scent was a bit familiar before I introduced the baby at the house...worked great.

·
Registered
198 Posts

I remember many years ago when I had my first son I had a doberman. LIke someone mentioned the baby's room was set up and the dog would roam free to smell and all and get use to the room. When we brought home our son we let the dog smell the baby. But you have to know your dog's character. Cause if he is a bit dominated or agressive so slowly.