German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on Olivia's pulling for around 5 - 6 months now and I feel I have made little to no progress.

I've been doing various versions of the treat training but all she seems to do is eat the treat and pull even harder.

I've used normal collars but she has a tendency to slip out so I no longer walk her on them. (She is not a dog I can off leash walk)

I've used martingales but she ends up pulling so hard she chokes herself, even when loose.

I've used a head halter (?) and we both discovered it wasn't a good fit, despite treat training and conditioning.

We've tried the walking in different directions as well as stopping when she pulls.

I've tried having her stay at my side with a very short leash and I just ended up with a burn from the force of her pulling.

So right now we've just been using a harness with a front ring and that has worked decent. However she's gotten so big that she still manages to yank me around.

Are there any other methods I should be exploring?

She loves eating the treats but I can't get her to focus enough that she slows down. She knows the focus command and will do her tricks on walks but can't seem to slow down for whatever reason.

She slows down when sniffing things which she does whenever flowers are nearby (yes she sniffs flowers, no clue why.) When there is no plants to sniff she just trucks along.

All of these methods were tried for several weeks daily with consistency.

No prong or shock collar suggestions please, I know they work for some but I would rather not.

Any advice, other ways to treat train, etc?

Please be specific in each step you do, that way I don't miss anything that could help.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
4,845 Posts