German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32,436 Posts
I'm curious how stem cells will help rebuild bone. I've always been skeptical about it. It will help rebuild soft tissue that has degenerated because the bones aren't formed correctly, but how will it help the bone itself which is the problem?

·
Registered
129 Posts
I just posted a long topic on this. And then this came up. My understanding is that it will not break down the bone if it was formed that way during growth, or a deformity.

The majority of the success is with arthritic issues -- I am not an expert by any means, we are new to the process, but if the dysplasia is from a deformity in the bone growth, it will not "fix" that, but can break down the arthritic tissue that forms.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hello, I am new here and found this site because of just finding out my 8yr old female german shepherd has hip dysplasia and arthritis in her right hip. As everyone here knows our dogs are our family. I have researched and researched treatment in the last several weeks. My old roommate is a Vet supply sales mgr and I have bugged the S__t out of him in helping me. From just giving her meds to laser treatment, operating and finally stem cell. A neighbors husband is a Vet and he does stem cell and laser, after he saw her x rays he said she was a perfect fit for stem cell. I asked should I just wait and medicate and he advised NO the arthritis will worsen and the earlier treatment the better to stop it. Told me the success rate was huge and the treatment had been a huge success in his office. Anyway will be going in the next few weeks to have Sasha treated, both hips.

Kind Regards
Mark

·
Registered
32,436 Posts
Mark - What exactly will stem cell therapy do? Rebuild the lost cartilage? How does it affect the arthritis that has already caused bony ridges to form?

Laser therapy is awesome! Jax has had to have it twice for injuries.

·
Registered
1,152 Posts