German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7,571 Posts
No idea. Do subscribe to WDJ? You might want to email their editorial staff and ask them. They might know. They seem to know everything about this sort of stuff.

Starfruit. I had to google it.

Hey, weren't you doing prey model?

·
Registered
7,571 Posts
Ok. Wait. I'm doing some deductive googling over here.

Wikipedia (ok not a great scientific resource but still) says: Individuals with kidney trouble should avoid consuming the fruit, because of the presence of oxalic acid. Juice made from carambola can be even more dangerous owing to its concentration of the acid.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carambola

Then I googled oxalic acid.

And found this:

I'm a vet nurse and if your dog ingested the oxalic acid you would know by now and you would have a very sick dog on your hands. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080518012733AAEtwew

Now the question above was about industrial oxalic acid. But oxalic acid is oxalic acid, yes?

Oh wait, I found this too.

Antifreeze is a major danger to a dog exploring a garage. It's an odorless fluid with a sweet taste that dogs in particular have a fondness for. Poisoning is swift; around a tablespoon is deadly to an average-sized dog, and the mortality rate is about 88 percent. The dog's liver actually turns against itself. The liver breaks down the antifreeze and changes it into oxalic acid. A dog cannot metabolize this substance, and this is what leads to the health problems and often death.
http://www.petco.com/Content/Article.asp...1&articleID=308

Ok, none of these sources are super-duper veterinary sources, but I'm posting as I google.

So it appears to me that at best starfruit is likely a bad idea. At worst, it's toxic.

·
Registered
10,225 Posts
Discussion Starter #4