German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
my vet recommends 6 month or before their first heat cycle, which is not usually before then :)

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you! I have heard conflicting information from various breeders regarding the topic and how too soon can impact their development.

I think my vet would concur with 6 months and that to me doesn't seem too soon, thank you.

·
Registered
76 Posts
you are welcome, I am not an expert, that is why I said my vet. If you are not in a hurry, I really don't think it matters

If it where a male I would definitely wait until 18-19 months and let the hormones help him develope all those wonderful male attributes.

But in my females, I have not noticed it hurting them.

I tell my puppy buyers, there are lots of opinions and written words out there. Read and listen to everything and than take what works the best for you and is fair to you and the dog. No two dogs or people or combination is ever the same :)

Kiss the fur child

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
You might discuss Ovariectomy rather than Ovariohysterectomy with your vet as OE has several advantages:

Making a Rational Choice Between Ovariectomy and Ovariohysterectomy in the Dog: A Discussion of the Benefits of Either Technique

BART VAN GOETHEM, DVM 1 , AUKE SCHAEFERS-OKKENS, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ECAR 1 , and JOLLE KIRPENSTEIJN, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVS & ECVS 1
1 From the Department of Clinical Sciences of Companion Animals, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands