German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So how long on average does it take to teach a dog new tricks? So im trying something a little different with Mr Nero were trying to do some doggy dance routines nothing to difficult! But every time I ask him to go round me (walk round) he just keeps lying down and giving me his paws Its really cute! So how long does it take to teach your dog a new trick before they get the hang of it?:)

·
Registered
2,594 Posts
I'm sure it depends on the puppy and method. I'm not an expert or trainer. Just commenting from my personal experience with my puppy. We use treats during training and Mac caught onto the basic tricks within a day or two. Try guiding him with a treat and when he "goes around" reward and praise him.

·
Registered
262 Posts
depends on if I have a slice of chicken meat or a lamb chewie in my hand... if I gotz the goods, Jake learns it by the 3rd attempt, and he'll do it consistantly, until the yummies are gone, then when I ask him to do anything, all I get are cricket chirps....

·
Registered
19,157 Posts
it depends on the dog, the age of the dog, and the complexity of the trick.

·
Registered
2,594 Posts
depends on if I have a slice of chicken meat or a lamb chewie in my hand... if I gotz the goods, Jake learns it by the 3rd attempt, and he'll do it consistantly, until the yummies are gone, then when I ask him to do anything, all I get are cricket chirps....
exactly! :)

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I use small meaty treats prehaps its because hes a bit of a lad and does'nt want to dance!! He he he!

·
Super Moderator
32,242 Posts
There really is no average - the skill of the trainer is such a huge factor in how quickly your dog will learn something new. The more you teach your dog, the faster they'll learn too, so that's another big factor.

·
Registered
10,132 Posts