German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,
Thank you for allowing me to be a member of this forum. I just bought a new puppy a couple months ago. She is now 4.5 months old. I had her at the vet today and he told me she has a minor overbite. I am concerned about this as I wanted to perhaps show her in the future...I read some threads about some overbites correcting themselves, some not... - so I would like some other peoples opinions on my pup, as I don't have much experience with this. I have attached some pictures for the rest of you to see. I'm so worried.

Thank you so much in advance for any advice or help anyone can give.
Hand Jaw Carnivore Gesture Finger

Leg Comfort Human body Wood Grey

·
Registered
7,882 Posts
I don’t know, I’m not an expert but I’ve read they can put braces on dogs’ teeth. What did the vet suggest?

·
Registered
875 Posts
I have had a couple of puppies over the years that looked like that. They grew out of it and had normal bites when they got older.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have had a couple of puppies over the years that looked like that. They grew out of it and had normal bites when they got older.
Thanks for your reply.! That seems like promising news. I hope it will be the same for my puppy too! It’s just nerve wracking thinking about it. :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I would quit giving her any hard chew toys or bones for now. One of my dogs has some crooked bottom teeth in the front due to heavy chewing when the adult teeth were growing in.
You’re right I have given her some bones to chew on. I will take them away asap.

·
Registered
12,255 Posts