German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I really want to make the right breeder decision.

I have officially decided on a Show Line GSD. I'm open to both American and West German lines.

I've been taking my time deciding on a breeder, as you can probably tell. A few of my top picks fell through because their dog's didn't have the most important traits I'm looking for and this is a big commitment for me. (One kept telling me that "all our puppies are the same", the other (Theishof which is incredible!) doesn't have very affectionate males, usually).

I'm an aspiring dog trainer.
This dog will be my training partner, demo dog, and if his temperament is right for it he will double as my Service Dog. If he washes, he will still be my lifetime companion.

Most important traits, I have come to understand of myself;
1. Very affectionate/cuddly (I know it's a hit or miss with GSDs! A risk I'm willing to take

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
(sorry! Accidentally submitted before I was done and don't know how to edit my original post!)

2. Must have good handler focus/be engaged
3. Eager to please
4. Stable temperament

I am in South-Central Oregon but am willing to travel.

So far I have been looking at Von Dax in Nevada the most. Their dogs are beautiful and the health tests seem to be in order. They said that their dogs are very affectionate, especially "Tucker" who is their "ambassador" when people visit.

I was looking at WindRidge as well but I really don't like that they force Spay/Neuter as I have no desire to neuter my dog unless it's medically necessary.

I am will to travel as far as a 6 hour drive from Silver Lake, Oregon.

Thank you!

·
Registered
13,884 Posts
Hi everyone! I really want to make the right breeder decision.

I have officially decided on a Show Line GSD. I'm open to both American and West German lines.