German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read a lot of topics on this forum bug figured I'd register and make a new topic tailored to my situation as this is not a decision to take lightly.
I'm a student and go to college in England and am away 8-3 sometimes longer sometimes not as long. I can leave during my free periods as I live 5 minutes from the college and he will never be home alone. Another problem I have is that we're moving into an apartment next week, but we have a massive dog park right across the road, literally. I consider my self an active person, I go biking a lot and also some other sports so I could take him with me. I have already researched all their requirements and have contacted a breeder to view and be around her dogs and puppies to see how they are. Anything I should look for? Given the circumstances I have given, is the German shepherd right for me?

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
7,274 Posts
If you can make a commitment for the life of the GSD, then why not. Others live in apartments and work around school/work schedules.

·
Banned
15,195 Posts
it's not a matter whether a GSD is right for you but more so
whether you and your situation is right for a dog no matter
what breed. as long as you have the time and money for a
long term commitment you should be fine.

·
Registered
624 Posts
GSDs can be suited for apartment life. They fit in happily with people and small pets. They're a versatile, all-around dog.

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts
For me, I say NO to a dog while you are in school.

I think it's better for you to spend your time and effort getting great grades, so you can get a wonderful job, to later find and afford a place that allows dogs close to your job so you don't have a long commute!