German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a software developer and I work from home most of the time. I have a Biomorph desk that I generally have in the up position so that I can stand at it.

Well, Kaiser likes to grab his squeaky ball and push his way between my knees and stand there squeaking the ball for a bit. Once he's done that enough he'll drop it and look up at me like 'ok, your turn'. Of course being the dumb human in the relationship I pickup the ball and toss it out of my office in to the entry hall. He goes and gets it and we repeat the cycle.

I'm researching puzzle toys to see if I can find some other avenues for him to express his boundless energy through.

·
Premium Member
3,779 Posts
I throw a handful of dogfood up in the air for it to scatter. Keeps them busy for a while. And quiet.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Both ideas: brilliant. Thanks!

I love the muffin tin idea.

·
Registered
8,690 Posts
As cute as it is, don't be afraid to say "no" or cut the game after one or two tosses of the ball :) Once he realizes that while you're at your desk it's work time for you and quiet time for him then he should stop bugging you.

I'm one of the people that when my dog brings me something it's a good thing, but when I'm on my computer and I get a nice juicy drooled on toy dropped on my keyboard I realized there had to be a happy medium. So when I'm busy I will toss the toy twice, then it's game over and I simply tell him 'all done' when he comes back. When I'm finished my work then I call him and tell him to bring the toy back and we'll play, he's gotten the concept that 'no' doesn't mean 'never' but 'later' so he's learned patience and to wait until I'm finished

·
Registered
1,574 Posts