German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm new to this and I'm looking for some advice. I have decided to get a GSD pup as a future running partner. I have had big dogs before (NZ Huntaway) and I'm well aware the pup wont be coming running till 18mths old. I just have this niggling thought in my head that the dog might not be able to cope with 10 mile runs when she's older because she is big boned and will have a longish coat. I'm going to make sure she stays well groomed and I only go on runs where the dogs have regular access to water and a river/stream to cool off in. Am I being daft or is this not the best choice for a running parter?

·
Registered
311 Posts
I think a GSD would make an excellent running partner. Im sure you could work it up to running 10 miles but it may take a while. Just think how long it took you to train your body to run that far...I don't think I could even run 5 miles, much less 10. It's not like you are getting a Great Dane or Mastiff etc. You are getting a dog that is lean and lithe and made to run.

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
My 3 year old male GSD is slightly larger than is standard at 28 inches tall (stock coat). He's about 85 pounds. He runs 8 miles a day, five days a week, and then a couple of those days he will do a second run of about 3 miles later in the day. Generally we run in temps of 75 degrees F or lower where we live. He does an average pace of 9 minute miles and handles this distance very well. His hips and elbows were x-rayed and deemed to be perfect otherwise I would not run him this much. I don't think I would push him much past the weekly mileage he is at right now, and we will no doubt have to taper back when he gets older.

But in my 23 years of running, he is the best running partner I have ever had.

·
Registered
4,828 Posts