German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody I just joined this forum yesterday, and I have to say this is a GREAT forum!

Anyways, I'm currently a college student and I would consider myself pretty active; I run track here. I am looking to get a German Shepherd hopefully over the summer where I will be able to spend long hours with him/her without being out at classes and practice.

One benefit of being on the track team is that one of the runners that graduated last year had a weimaraner that would hang out with us during practice. He would run with us when he wanted, and when he grew tired, he would sleep in the shade. And nobody had to worry because the practice field was surrounded by a 10 foot high chain link fence to keep out drunk undergrads. I'm hoping i can bring my future dog to do the same

I was wondering if any of you run with your German Shepherds, in particular people from Southern California. How much do you run with him/her? I go to school in the inland empire, where it is crazy hot. Do you think it would be okay for my future gsd to be running in temps above 80 degrees?

·
Registered
10,132 Posts
I think as long as the dog wasn't on a leash being made to run, he'd be fine. If he was able to run a while, and then go get a drink of water and lay down when he felt hot or tired there probably wouldn't be a problem.

·
Registered
4,782 Posts
Hi everybody I just joined this forum yesterday, and I have to say this is a GREAT forum!

Anyways, I'm currently a college student and I would consider myself pretty active; I run track here. I am looking to get a German Shepherd hopefully over the summer where I will be able to spend long hours with him/her without being out at classes and practice.