German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Merry Xmas eve to all.. this is my first time posting and I'm hoping maybe I can get some insights from the GS community.

I have a 5yr old male GS (Smoke) who weighs about 90lbs. We woke up last Saturday to a very sick dog. He had thrown up multiple times in his room and couldn't keep anything down. We gave him a little water that only lasted about 5 minutes before he thew it up. His system/body was completely exhausted. He just laid around everywhere and didn't want to move.

We took him to the vet that morning and they gave him a shot to settle his stomach. The vet thinks that it's a GI issue and told us to give him Pepcid AC once a day and prescribed Sucralfate to give him every 8 hrs. He also told us to go on a diet of soft food (chicken and rice) for the next couple days.

Smoke started to look better by the next night and was back to his bubbly self over the next couple days. He hadn't had a vomiting issue since that Saturday, and we were finished with his prescription.

Things were looking good...

Until we started to work back in his regular diet (Purina One healthy weight). Last night, I put in 1.5 cups of hard food with his chicken and rice. When I woke up this morning, he had thrown it all up again.

At this point, not sure if it's still just a lingering stomach issue or something bigger. We are going back to a bland diet of chicken and rice - but I'm at a loss of what else to do.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
9,602 Posts
I would suspect and insensitivity to the food. I'd try a grain-free, higher quality brand. Some dogs can't tolerate chicken well either, so you could try brown rice with cooked ground beef for a few days to settle his stomach. I'd call the vet on Monday. Has he been tested for parasites, worms, etc?

·
Registered
9,796 Posts