German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there! This is my first time posting on here. So, my husband and I rescued a puppy back in January. We were looking for a GSD, after my sweet girl of 12 years passed away last year and we were finally ready for a new family member and wanted another GSD. I found this lil guy at a local rescue and he was listed as GSD and he looked like one, but he was very malnourished and young so it was hard to tell otherwise. The last 4 months he's been doing great but seems to be on the smaller/leaner side of what a typical german shepherd male would be. I get asked often if he is a Malinois so I decided to look into it and it seems like that may be a possibility. Right now he's 8.5 months, weighs about 54 lbs. Any thoughts? Of course we love him no matter what he is (people also ask if he's coyote, dingo, etc, haha) but it would be nice to know! Thanks in advance.
?

·
Registered
723 Posts
Oh, my goodness.... those ears! :laugh:

To me, the body looks more Malinois than GSD. The head reminds me more of a GSD, though. Maybe a cross of the two? Whatever he is, though, he's a lucky pup.

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I couldn't say, but I'm LOVING those ears! I bet he can hear you coming from Two miles away :D

·
Registered
2,084 Posts
Definitely malinois ears and body but Shepherd face. He does not have that lean pointed mal face.

Impossible to tell. Mal Shepherd mixes are becoming more and more popular in the sport world. However I doubt one of those breeders would let a pup get loose.

Because mals are still rarer I would bet he's simply a shepherd mix. But who knows? :)

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #7