German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
re: owners with health problems

Hello All! I have noticed that quite a few folks on the forum have mentioned that they have "health issues". I am wondering what impact an owner's health/mobility/ability to exercise their GSD has? The reason I ask is that I am a recently retired nurse, am in pretty good health, but due to knee arthritis and foot surgeries, I walk daily but could not run or speed through an agility course with my future shepherd. Are daily walks and sessions of fetch and flirt poles on a 30-50 foot line and indoor mind games, tug, etc. adequate? My first shepherd was very low-key for a shepherd, my second one loved mental stimulation and learning "stuff"! I am able to spend my time with my dogs, which I really enjoy.

·
Registered
31,827 Posts
I am not exercising at all, at present. My blood pressure goes way up when I do. My dogs are all fine.

·
Banned
4,417 Posts
I have a fairly good sized backyard. My pup has set up her own speed/obstacle course for running there. When she feels the need to run flat out at top speed, she'll make 3 or 4 circuits. She's so fast!:) Also, we play "two ball" which is a good workout for the ball driven dog. She's gotten much faster so I have switched to kicking the balls (they're football shape with squeakers) rather than taking the time to hand retrieve each one for her. She loves it and I can kick them much further than throw.

·
Super Moderator
5,850 Posts
I'm arthritic also,my running days are over:)Playing fetch,and doing simple agility things on walks gives my dogs adequate exercise.They jump and climb over logs,go up and down steep hills,hunt and track,etc.I can walk at my own pace and be the coach:)

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #6