German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sigh. i came home after a week away to find that kali is getting a yeast infection again. it seems like once a year we go through this. SHe gets acidophilus once a day, and we seemed to be doing so well. In any case, i will call the vet on monday, but does anyone have any other suggestions??
thanks

·
Registered
4,473 Posts
does she have any allergies that you are unaware of? Also, did she just get vaccinated? I have heard of some cases where the dog will get a yeast infection after being vaccinated and it would kind of make sense because your dog gets vaccinated yearly, just a thought.

i know this might sound crazy but i heard a while back about using equal parts of Vinegar and Alcohol to treat yeast infections in the ears. it also might help if she is eat grain-free foods- i don't know what you are currently feeding her-

I am no professional but those are just things I know off the top of my head from reading about yeast infections in the past.

Let us know how she makes out at the vet.

Good luck

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts

·
Registered
24,301 Posts

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
My pug use to get really bad yeast infections and anal glands. she was on Pro Plan dry. Once I switched her to Natural Balance she has been fine. I am feeding both her and Kai TWO now. The Black Forest one.

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
after all this i think i know what happened. i ran out of seacure, which is a protein powder that is supposed to help with leaky gut, right before i left. i did not think ti was really doing anything (ha) so i decided it could wait til i got back. So i got that ordered.... hopefully we can keep it under control until it gets back (not ears...it is in her ... well.. female sensitive spot.. poor girl)
perhaps one more reason to move her over to the raw diet

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter #8