German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everyone!

As some of you may know, I am planning on getting a pup from Chris Wild this April. I am planning on feeding a 90% RAW diet, but I have never done this before, so I am in new territory. Chris has been incredibly helpful, but my biggest concern right now is where to get the meat. I know Seattle has a huge market for pre-made RAW, but it is ridiculously expensive. Chris says that where she lives there is a large group of them who get together and buy in bulk from butchers, etc. What I am trying to do is get in touch with anyone else in the Seattle area who is feeding RAW, and find out where they are getting their meat (and other ingredients), and if I can go in with them on buying some. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I want to have this all figured out before my little bundle of joy arrives, so I can start out doing things right from the start.

Unfortunately, I am not home yet - I am still contracting in Afghanistan until the first part of April - so I can't meet anyone in person or do any footwork to research butchers, etc. I have even had trouble looking things up online, because the government internet blocks the stupidest things - one butcher shop's website was blocked for "violence" if you can believe it. :rolleyes:

My other concern is how to store the whole ingredients, how to grind them, and how to store it after it is ground. How much do you buy? What do you use to grind it? Do you throw everything into the grinder, or do you just grind the bones and MM and then mix it with the rest? What do you store the ground meat/food in? How long does it stay good frozen? Do you need to keep the ingredients separate, or can you mix them all together and THEN freeze them in single servings? How far ahead of time do you move it to the refrigerator to thaw? I would love to hear any advice or stories on how others handle these issues.