German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our 4 year old is about 25lbs over weight. This was due to almost a year of prednisone and an on going battle with poly mytosis. We are trying to get him onto raw and he is doing great right now with half kibble and half raw, morning night feeding. The vet said to put him on one cup of food in the morning and one cup at night. Right now we are doing chicken wings/thighs and will progress more later on. Is a cup of kibble and a wing an thigh about the same as two total cups. I didnt mention we were doing raw with the vet because I dont think she is for it. Previously he was getting around 4 cups of food so we need to back it down. Our kibble right now is eagle pack holistic chicken.

·
Registered
1,919 Posts
I am sure others with more experience will respond but for now I will give you my thoughts, I have been feeding raw for 3 years now...

What is the ideal weight for your dog? I will guess that he should weigh around 70-75lbs and should be eating no more than a lb of raw food a day to lose the excess weight. If I was you I would quit feeding kibble and feed raw exclusively . Chicken leg quarters are the least expensive to feed and weigh about a lb each... I am not familiar with Poly Mytosis so I am not sure if there are things you should or should not be feeding... Some raw feeders include pureed fruits and veggies in their diets, I do. I feed a pre-mixed ground diet that is balanced with raw meaty bones, organ meat and vegetables. I add different fruits through out the week along with yogurt at their PM feeding. I also add Salmon Oil, Olive Oil, Vitamin C and E and an enzyme multiple to their PM feeding. A key to feeding a balanced raw diet is to feed a variety of proteins.

Hope this helps get you started...As I said, there are a number of folks on this site with lots of experience that will be able to offer their knowledge as well.

Best wishes,

·
Registered