German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My newest rescue is training in Rally O. He's already gotten two scores with his previous owner, 178 and 193. He knows what he's doing, and I'm just learning.. lol

My instructor sent me the file for the signs, but how do I make a course at home? Is there anywhere on the net I can download free course plans? Or is this something I need to buy?

Any help appreciated!
Kim

·
Registered
987 Posts
I bought a book from J&J dog supplies a couple years ago that had course plans for each level and went over each sign too. You can also buy the signs from them too.
When I set up my course here at home I use cheap kids soccer cones I bought from walmart to lean the signs against

·
"I like Daffy" Moderator
3,276 Posts
You don't need preplanned courses -- you can do them yourself. I try to include one recall, one figure 8 type, jumps if appropriate, and fill in with turns as needed. And for proactice you don't have to do complete courses -- just parts so that you can do each sign.

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think in class we had 17 or 18 signs on the course last weekend. I was going to do a set up like that. There aren't any jumps in novice.. I hope? I've got all the signs, the plastic sleeves to put them in.. Just haven't printed them out. Ran out of white card stock.And I was going to buy this garden edging made of wire and cut it to fit each sign. (found that idea on the internet)

I was just hoping there were some course plans to make it easier. I'm afraid it'll have my brain fried trying to figure it out.

Thanks tho!

·
Registered
14 Posts