German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone, so I have my heart set on a white german shepherd but will also go with a traditional gsd depends on scheduling + breeding. I made a post in the breeders forum, very helpful and did a search and found just the info I was looking for, I won't give up till I find the perfect pup lol.

Anyway I currently have a 2 yr old golden retriever with amazing companionship/personality, very loving and affectionate but likes to play and roll around with other dogs, she jumps on other dogs to initiate play which isn't always a good thing shes very immature.

I am a 28yr old graduate student moving out in a yr from family home, I'm looking at a male shepherd ideally in the 90-100lb range. Thing is he will be raised in a family setting with a 2 yr old female golden who loves to play, nibble on ears, etc. She wouldn't hurt a fly, has never growled at a person/other dog and is extremely childish.

The GSD is a large male dog, will being raised with a playful/affectionate female golden influence his socialization + overall temperament once fully grown? I have never owned a GSD and understand they're extremely powerful animals , I want to have a good feel for things before getting started. Thanks again for your time everyone!

·
Registered
5,126 Posts
I think it is going to depend on the temperament of the pup to begin with. I suggest you discuss this with the breeder you have selected and trust the breeder's choice in selecting your puppy.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts